The sixty-seventh session of the Commission on the Status of Women will take place from 6 to 17 March 2023, supported by the UN. The event will witness the participation of The World Health Organization (WHO)

  • Priority theme: Innovation and technological change, and education in the digital age for achieving gender equality and the empowerment of all women and girls
  • Review theme: Challenges and opportunities in achieving gender equality and the empowerment of rural women and girls (agreed conclusions of the sixty-second session)

The Bureau of the Commission plays a crucial role in facilitating the preparation and ensuring the successful outcome of the annual sessions of the Commission. Bureau members serve for two years. In line with ECOSOC decision 2002/234, the Commission holds the first meeting of its subsequent session immediately following the closure of the regular session to elect new members of the Bureau as needed.

The Bureau for the 67th session of the Commission on the Status of Women (2023) comprises the following members:

  • H.E. Ms. Mathu Joyini (South Africa), Chair (African States Group)
  • H.E. Ms. Antje Leendertse (Germany), Vice-Chair (Western European and Other States Group)
  • Mr. Māris Burbergs (Latvia), Vice-Chair (Eastern European States Group)
  • H.E. Ms. Maria del Carmen Squeff (Argentina), Vice-Chair designate (Latin American and Caribbean States Group)
  • Ms. Chimguundari Navaan-Yunden (Mongolia), Vice-Chair designate (Asia and Pacific States Group)

The outcome of the Commission’s consideration of the priority theme during its 67th session will take the form of agreed conclusions to be negotiated by all Member States.

Registration for CSW67 will be open for ECOSOC-accredited NGOs from 7 October 2022 till 27 January 2023.

Recommended Posts

No comment yet, add your voice below!

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *